Neon offers up to $200,000 in credits.
No equity, no fees. No referral needed; apply directly.
Stage fit: Pre-seed to Series A. Difficulty: moderate.
Neon at a glance
- Max value
- Up to $200,000
- Stage fit
- Pre-seed to Series A
- Takes equity
- No
- Who files it
- You (no code needed)
- Geography
- Not stated on the official page.
- Referral needed
- No
- Difficulty
- Moderate
- Review time
- Typically a few business days, per the official FAQ
- Credits expire
- Credits are valid for 12 months from the acceptance date (not first use).
What Neon actually gives you
- Self-FundedUp to $1,000 in Neon credits, onboarding support from the Neon product team, early access to new Neon featuresStartups with less than $1M in total funding, building an early-stage product or MVP
- Venture-BackedUp to $200,000 in combined Neon and Databricks credits, onboarding support, early feature access, speaking opportunities at Neon developer events, co-marketingStartups with at least $1M in VC funding, or participants in a recognized accelerator (Y Combinator is the named example), building an early-stage product or MVP
Who qualifies
You likely qualify if
- Self-Funded tier: your company has raised less than $1M in total and is building an early-stage product or MVP.
- Venture-Backed tier: your company has raised at least $1M from VCs, OR is a participant in a recognized accelerator (e.g. Y Combinator), and is building an early-stage product or MVP.
- Databricks' consolidated program announcement (June 16, 2026) targets early-stage, venture-backed companies, especially those that recently raised institutional funding from pre-seed through Series A and are building on data and AI.
- Existing Neon or Databricks users can apply; approved credits are added to the existing account (no new account or migration needed).
- You must accept the Databricks Terms of Use and acknowledge its Privacy Notice when you apply.
- No investor or accelerator referral is required; you can apply directly from neon.com/startups. Unsure applicants are told to apply or ask their investor.
You won't qualify if
- Companies that have raised under $1M and are not in a recognized accelerator are limited to the $1,000 Self-Funded tier; the $200K tier is for $1M+ raised or accelerator participants.
- Companies well past the early-stage product or MVP stage (roughly beyond Series A) fall outside the stated target; the official pages publish no hard revenue or funding ceiling.
- Meeting the criteria does not guarantee a particular amount: the official FAQ says the amount depends on stage and funding and publishes only maximums, not minimums.
- Neon's page lists no country exclusions. Databricks' Master Cloud Services Agreement (Section 10.3) bars use of its services where export-control or sanctions law prohibits it, without naming specific countries.
- The separate Databricks AI Accelerator Program (investment plus credits) is invitation-only and cannot be applied to.
Geography. Not stated on the official page. The online form is open to applicants generally, subject to Databricks' export-control and sanctions terms (no countries are named).
How to apply to Neon Startup Program
- 01Work out your tier: under $1M raised = Self-Funded (up to $1K); $1M+ raised or in a recognized accelerator = Venture-Backed (up to $200K combined Neon + Databricks).
- 02Go to neon.com/startups and click 'Apply Now'. It opens the Databricks Startup Program application form (a Google Sites page). Applying means agreeing to the Databricks Terms of Use and acknowledging its Privacy Notice.
- 03Existing Neon or Databricks users can apply with their current account; the official pages do not state that a new Neon account is required first. The form fields are not described on the official pages.
- 04If you are unsure you qualify, the official pages say to apply anyway or ask your investor; Databricks also accepts investor referrals via databricks.com/product/startups.
- 05Wait for review; the official FAQ says the team typically responds within a few business days.
- 06If approved, credits are applied to your account and are valid for 12 months from the acceptance date. Usage beyond the credits is billed at your plan's normal rates; there is no commitment to stay.
Review time: Typically a few business days, per the official FAQ. Apply at sites.google.com/databricks.com/startup-program-apply.
What changed in 2025 and 2026
Restructured after Databricks announced its acquisition of Neon on May 14, 2025. Neon's standalone program launched June 17, 2025 with up to $100K in Neon-only credits (typical applicant $1M to $5M raised, product launched in the past 12 months, no warm intro needed). On June 16, 2026 Databricks announced a consolidated Databricks Startup Program; neon.com/startups now advertises up to $200K across Neon and Databricks through a single Databricks-run application form, with a published $1,000 Self-Funded tier for companies under $1M raised.
Hold these alongside Neon
Neon credits and your AWS bill
New Neon projects can only be created in Neon's 8 AWS regions (its 3 Azure regions are deprecated), so Neon credits cover the Postgres layer a startup would otherwise run on RDS or Aurora. They do not reduce your AWS bill, and Neon states it no longer supports billing through AWS Marketplace, so Neon spend cannot be routed through AWS Marketplace. Treat Neon credits as separate from, and additive to, any AWS Activate credits, which apply to your AWS account.
Neon startup credits, answered
How much does Neon give startups?
Neon offers up to $200,000 in credits. There are 2 tiers: Self-Funded: Up to $1,000 in Neon credits, onboarding support from the Neon product team, early access to new Neon features; Venture-Backed: Up to $200,000 in combined Neon and Databricks credits, onboarding support, early feature access, speaking opportunities at Neon developer events, co-marketing.
Does Neon take equity?
No. Neon Startup Program is a credits program, not an investment; you keep 100% of your company. No referral needed; apply directly.
Who qualifies for Neon Startup Program?
Stage fit: Pre-seed to Series A (self-funded MVP builders qualify for the small tier only). You usually qualify if: self-Funded tier: your company has raised less than $1M in total and is building an early-stage product or MVP.; venture-Backed tier: your company has raised at least $1M from VCs, OR is a participant in a recognized accelerator (e.g. Y Combinator), and is building an early-stage product or MVP.; databricks' consolidated program announcement (June 16, 2026) targets early-stage, venture-backed companies, especially those that recently raised institutional funding from pre-seed through Series A and are building on data and AI. You will not qualify if: companies that have raised under $1M and are not in a recognized accelerator are limited to the $1,000 Self-Funded tier; the $200K tier is for $1M+ raised or accelerator participants.; companies well past the early-stage product or MVP stage (roughly beyond Series A) fall outside the stated target; the official pages publish no hard revenue or funding ceiling.
How long does Neon take to approve credits?
Typically a few business days, per the official FAQ. Difficulty: moderate, a real application and usually some back and forth.
When do Neon credits expire?
Credits are valid for 12 months from the acceptance date (not first use). After they run out or expire, the account stays on its selected plan and usage beyond the credits is billed normally.
Can I combine Neon credits with AWS credits?
New Neon projects can only be created in Neon's 8 AWS regions (its 3 Azure regions are deprecated), so Neon credits cover the Postgres layer a startup would otherwise run on RDS or Aurora. They do not reduce your AWS bill, and Neon states it no longer supports billing through AWS Marketplace, so Neon spend cannot be routed through AWS Marketplace. On AWS, CloudRoute matches you for free with a vetted partner who can file MAP, POC or IW funding when the workload qualifies and AWS approves it. The Neon application you submit yourself.