Pinecone's startup offer: free Standard tier + Pro Support (list about $300/mo; term unpublished) + unpublished credits.
No equity, no fees. No referral needed; apply directly.
Stage fit: Pre-seed to Series A. Difficulty: easy.
Pinecone at a glance
- Max value
- Free Standard tier + Pro Support (list about $300/mo; term unpublished) + unpublished credits
- Stage fit
- Pre-seed to Series A
- Takes equity
- No
- Who files it
- You (no code needed)
- Geography
- Not stated on the official page.
- Referral needed
- No
- Difficulty
- Easy
- Review time
- Not published by Pinecone
- Credits expire
- Not published by Pinecone.
What Pinecone actually gives you
- Pinecone for Startups (single tier)Free access to Standard tier and Pro Support (any cloud/region, RBAC, backups, import, Prometheus metrics, dedicated Slack channel) plus usage credits and discounts. Pinecone publishes no credit amount, discount rate or program duration. Third-party directories report credits from about $3,500 to about $5,000 in the first year, unverified.Startups with fewer than 100 employees that are Series A or earlier
Who qualifies
You likely qualify if
- Your company has fewer than 100 employees (official)
- Your company is Series A or earlier (official wording: "You're Series A or earlier"; Pinecone does not say how bootstrapped, pre-seed or seed companies are treated, though they are below Series A)
- Reported by third-party directories but not stated on the official page: you are building an AI product that uses Pinecone's vector database, e.g. RAG, semantic search or recommendations
You won't qualify if
- Companies with 100 or more employees (official eligibility rule)
- Companies later than Series A, e.g. Series B or later (official eligibility rule)
- Reported by one third-party directory only (guptadeepak.com) and not stated by Pinecone: companies with an existing large Pinecone contract. Another directory lists unclear AI/vector-search use case as a rejection reason. Confirm with startups@pinecone.io.
- Enterprise-only features are not part of Standard tier per Pinecone's pricing page, so are not expected to be included: 99.95% uptime SLA, Bring Your Own Cloud, Private Endpoints, Customer Managed Encryption Keys, Audit Logs, SCIM, SAML roles and Service Accounts. The program page itself does not list exclusions.
Geography. Not stated on the official page. Pinecone's pricing page lists Standard tier as available on AWS, Azure and GCP in all available regions, and a third-party directory lists the program as open globally.
How to apply to Pinecone for Startups
- 01Confirm you have fewer than 100 employees and are Series A or earlier.
- 02Go to pinecone.io/startup-program and click "Join the Program", which jumps to the contact form section on the same page.
- 03Complete and submit the form on that page. Pinecone does not publish the form fields or the review process.
- 04Questions go to startups@pinecone.io.
- 05Per the official page, members get free Standard Tier and Pro Support (including a dedicated Slack channel) plus usage credits and discounts. Pinecone does not publish how or when these are applied, so confirm with Pinecone after approval.
- 06VCs, accelerators and other partners who want to offer the program to their portfolio use the separate "Become a partner" Google Form linked from the same page.
Review time: Not published by Pinecone. Third-party directories report roughly 1 to 2 weeks (5 to 10 business days).. Apply at www.pinecone.io/startup-program/#contact-form.
What changed in 2025 and 2026
No change to the program terms found in 2025 or 2026: an archived copy of the page from May 2025 and the live page on 2026-10-09 both say free Standard Tier + Pro Support, fewer than 100 employees, Series A or earlier. The old URL pinecone.io/startups/ now returns 404; the live page is pinecone.io/startup-program/. Pinecone's pricing page now lists a new $20/mo Builder tier below Standard, a $50/mo Standard minimum, a $500/mo Enterprise minimum, Pro Support at $250/mo and Developer support at $29/mo (third-party trackers report Standard's minimum rose from $25 to $50 during 2025). The startup program still references Standard.
Hold these alongside Pinecone
Pinecone credits and your AWS bill
Pinecone runs on AWS (the free Starter tier is AWS us-east-1 only; Standard tier is available on AWS in all Pinecone-supported regions), is listed on AWS Marketplace so post-credit Pinecone spend may be billable through AWS, and is a supported vector store for Amazon Bedrock Knowledge Bases. Pinecone credits do not reduce your AWS bill itself; they sit alongside AWS Activate credits rather than replacing them.
Pinecone startup credits, answered
How much does Pinecone give startups?
Pinecone's startup offer: free Standard tier + Pro Support (list about $300/mo; term unpublished) + unpublished credits. Single tier: Free access to Standard tier and Pro Support (any cloud/region, RBAC, backups, import, Prometheus metrics, dedicated Slack channel) plus usage credits and discounts.
Does Pinecone take equity?
No. Pinecone for Startups is a credits program, not an investment; you keep 100% of your company. No referral needed; apply directly.
Who qualifies for Pinecone for Startups?
Stage fit: Pre-seed to Series A. You usually qualify if: your company has fewer than 100 employees (official); your company is Series A or earlier (official wording: "You're Series A or earlier"; Pinecone does not say how bootstrapped, pre-seed or seed companies are treated, though they are below Series A); reported by third-party directories but not stated on the official page: you are building an AI product that uses Pinecone's vector database, e.g. RAG, semantic search or recommendations. You will not qualify if: companies with 100 or more employees (official eligibility rule); companies later than Series A, e.g. Series B or later (official eligibility rule).
How long does Pinecone take to approve credits?
Not published by Pinecone. Third-party directories report roughly 1 to 2 weeks (5 to 10 business days). Difficulty: easy, a short form, no referral for the base tier.
When do Pinecone credits expire?
Not published by Pinecone. Third-party listings describe the free Standard tier and Pro Support as lasting one year and the usage credits as valid for 12 months or within the first year; confirm with startups@pinecone.io.
Can I combine Pinecone credits with AWS credits?
Pinecone runs on AWS (the free Starter tier is AWS us-east-1 only; Standard tier is available on AWS in all Pinecone-supported regions), is listed on AWS Marketplace so post-credit Pinecone spend may be billable through AWS, and is a supported vector store for Amazon Bedrock Knowledge Bases. Pinecone credits do not reduce your AWS bill itself; they sit alongside AWS Activate credits rather than replacing them. On AWS, CloudRoute matches you for free with a vetted partner who can file MAP, POC or IW funding when the workload qualifies and AWS approves it. The Pinecone application you submit yourself.